Mechanical Engineering Advisory Board

Virginia Tech’s Mechanical Engineering Department formed its Advisory Board in February of 1997.

The purpose of this group of alumni and friends is to:

  1. Support the Department on existing and proposed educational and academic programs and other activities.
  2. Provide guidance strategies and assistance to the Department in maintaining effective liaisons with the university and the external community.
  3. Assist the Department in developing and communicating a national reputation in scholarship and research.


Current Members

Mary Virginia Berry
Executive Director of Engineering (Retired)
Aerojet Cooperation
John Blanton
Senior Engineer
GE Power & Water
William T. Cousins, Ph.D.
Principal Research Engineer
United Technologies Research Center
Nicholas H. Des Champs, Ph.D.
President and Founder
Des Champs Technologies Corporation
Howard Dittmer
VP of Engineering & Technology
Steve Drumheller
Mountain Precision Tool
David A. Glemming
Glemming Research Associates
Stacey Swisher Harnetty
Director of Stream Strategies
Eastman Chemical Company
John D. Heilmann
Global Business Director, Offshore Products
Lord Corporation
John R. Jones, III
President (Retired)
AEP ProServ
Douglas C. Rabe, Ph.D.
Director, Turbine Engine Research Center
USAF Research Laboratory
William Ranson
Technology Manager
DuPont Building Innovations
Michael J. Reilley, PE
Director, Nuclear Propulsion-Construction Engineering
Newport News Shipbuilding
J. David Rives
Sr. Vice President , Distribution
Dominion Virginia Power
Jay A. Rule, Jr.
Senior Principal Engineer
MeadWestvaco Corporation
John F. Sparks
Program Director, Engineering and Technology Programs
Aerojet Rocketdyne
Keith Van Houten
Manager of Vehicle Integration Strategy
General Motors Proving Ground
Lenny Wedge, P.E.
Manager of Engineering
Graham-White Manufacturing Company
Ed Zanoni
Senior Management of Core Technologies
The Boeing Company